KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

SELECTION AND MEMBER SERVICES COMMITTEE

MINUTES of a meeting of the Selection and Member Services Committee held in the Darent Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Thursday, 23 June 2016.

PRESENT: Mrs A D Allen, MBE (Chairman), Mr A H T Bowles (Substitute for Mr B J Sweetland), Mr G Cooke, Mrs T Dean, MBE, Ms A Harrison, Mr R A Latchford, OBE, Mr G Lymer (Substitute for Mr P B Carter, CBE) and Mr B E MacDowall

ALSO PRESENT: Mr M J Harrison

IN ATTENDANCE: Mr P D Wickenden (Democratic Services Manager (Members)) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

1. Minutes - 19 November 2015 (*Item 3*)

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 19 November 2015 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

2. Members' Allowances and Expenses 2015/16 (Item 4)

- (1) A supplementary Appendix setting out Members' use of Taxis for 2015 -16 was tabled and later published on the County Council's website.
- (2) The Committee agreed that there should be a brief update report to the next meeting of the Committee setting out the full charges for each of the County Cars.
- (3) RESOLVED that:-
 - (a) the report be noted; and
 - (b) agreement be given to the publication of the Council Members' allowances and expenses for 2015/16 as detailed in Appendix A of the report and required by the Local Authorities (Members' Allowances) (England) Regulations 2003.

3. Recruitment of the Independent Member Remuneration Panel (*Item 5*)

- (1) The Committee unanimously agreed the recruitment process set out in (2) below.
- (2) RESOLVED that the political Group Leaders be invited to make appointments to the Panel which will recommend the composition of the Member

Remuneration Panel to the County Council. These appointments will consist of:-

- (a) Honorary Aldermen; and/or
- (b) Persons who are not existing Members or Individuals planning to seek election to the County Council.

4. Independent Person

(Item 6)

RESOLVED that the County Council be recommended to appoint Mr Michael George as the Independent Person for the Member Code of Conduct for the four year term from 1 July 2016 to 30 June 2020.

5. Webcasting Contract

(Item 7)

- (1) The Cabinet Member for Corporate and Democratic Services recorded his appreciation of the work of Mrs Denise Fitch in successfully negotiating a 24% discount for the webcasting contract with Public-I for the 5 year period commencing on 30 June 2016.
- (2) RESOLVED that the new 5 year contract with Public-I for webcasting services be noted and that the savings achieved through the re-procurement of this service be noted.

6. Proposed Future Arrangements for the Governor Appointments Panel (Item 8)

RESOLVED that delegated authority be given to the Corporate Director of Education, learning and Skills (in consultation with the Members of the Governor Appointments Panel) to make or refuse all appointments to governing bodies where the nominee does not meet the guidelines in full, providing that all Panel Members are in agreement with the Director's proposed course of action.

7. Kent Flood Risk Management Committee (Item 9)

- (1) Mr M J Harrison was present for this Item pursuant to Committee Procedure Rule 2.27 and spoke.
- (2) During discussion of this item, the Committee agreed that the current Independent Member Remuneration Panel would be invited to consider the matter under discussion and that the new Panel would be requested to consider the question of Special Responsibility Allowances on a holistic basis in preparation for the next County Council following the elections in May 2017.
- (3) RESOLVED that:-
 - (a) the Independent Remuneration Panel be invited to consider the request for the role of Chairman of the Kent Flood Risk Management Committee

- to attract a Special Responsibility Allowance and to make a recommendation to the Committee and the County Council; and
- (b) the new Panel (commencing on 1 November 2016) be requested to consider the question of Special Responsibility Allowances on a holistic basis in preparation for the next County Council following the elections in May 2017.